SJPL Connect
How to Use Your Card/Access Your Account
- Go to sjpl.org
- Click the Log In/My SJPL button
in the top right-hand corner and select login. - Enter your Library Card Number. It will be 21194700 + Your 6-digit student ID number. Your PIN is your birthday (ex. 0719 if your birthday were July 19th).
- Continue to the Account Setup page (pictured below).
- Select a username.
- You're all set! Now you can use your Student Library Card to check out books, access e-resources, register for events and much more.
If you have any trouble signing up or navigating the website, please contact Ms. Lewis-Lockhart or Mr. Ballesteros.
Online Learning with SJPL
- Coursera
Access to over 5,000 courses and certifications led by top businesses, universities and organizations - LinkedIn Learning
An online learning site that hosts a growing library of over 16,000 courses available in seven languages. Courses are delivered by expert instructors on creative, business and technology topics. - The Great Courses Libby Collection
Enjoy over 250 streaming video courses taught by top professors and instructors.
Note: Streaming video - must have internet connection - O'Reilly for Public Libraries
Use online learning content and tools to learn new technologies and research business trends. O'Reilly provides access to eBooks, videos, learning paths and case studies.
- Archives Unbound
Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students. - Explora for High School Students
Search full text for hundreds of popular high school magazines, plus biographies, primary source documents, reference books, videos, photos, maps, and flags. - MedlinePlus
Information on medical topics. Includes links to a medical encyclopedia/dictionary, and clinical trials. From the National Library of Medicine/National Institutes of Health. - Gale Interactive ScienceA virtual lab that gives students in middle and high school grades the power to see beyond static text and embrace learning outside of the classroom.
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily LifeCovers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas & Africa. Covers history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more.
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of the NationsOffers information on more than 200 countries and dependencies from around the world. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders.
- View All
See more on SJPL's website.
- ChiltonLibraryGet manuals, OEM diagrams, and Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs) for automobiles and light trucks.
- Hobbies & Crafts Reference CenterLearn about crafting, collecting, home decorating, sports, games, gardening, robotics, and other crafts & hobbies.
- Home Improvement Reference CenterLearn about remodeling, home maintenance, painting, electrical work, plumbing and other home improvement topics.
- Prenda Code ClubPrenda Code Club is a self-paced learn-to-code software for kids ages 8-18. Through gamified projects and tutorials, kids can learn a variety of coding skills.
- Treehouse (Technology Learning)Learn to design and develop websites and mobile apps. Improve business skills in project management, marketing, and finance. Most courses are at a professional level.
- Mango LanguagesLearn conversation skills for over 70 different languages. Some languages include feature films.
- PronunciatorLearn conversational skills and grammar for over 80 languages. Some languages include special modules for children, feature-length films, music, and poetry.
- Non-English ResourcesFull list of SJPL online resources in languages other than English. Includes ebooks and audiobooks.
Your Student Library Card gives you access to hundreds of thousands of e-media, this includes eBooks, audiobooks, magazines, news, movies, and music. Check out the tabs to the right for more options.
Note: You can find the entire SJPL catalog, including print books here. You can search across the entire catalog to see all formats a particular title can be found in. With certain titles, even an eBook is unavailable in one format, it may be still available in another. See example in screenshots below.
- SJPL eMedia HomeFull list of all SJPL ebooks, audiobooks, and streaming resources including those not linked in the list below.
- Hoopla Digital
Read eBooks and eComics, listen to eAudiobooks and music, watch movies and TV. Use via browser or download the app. - Libby by OverDrive
Enjoy eBooks, eAudiobooks and eMagazines by downloading and using the Libby app by OverDrive. - OverDrive
Recent bestsellers, popular fiction and nonfiction, and more. Features eBooks in English, Español, 中文, 한국어, русский; (Spanish, Chinese, Vietnamese, Korean, and Russian). - EBSCO eBooksRead fiction, nonfiction, business, and academic titles on your computer or device. This is one of our Bellarmine databases but some titles only available via SJPL login.
- Axis 360
Axis 360 features eBook bestsellers with shorter hold queues. - cloudLibrary
cloudLibrary is an Adult Fiction and Nonfiction Lucky Day Collection. It works with your Mac or Windows computer, eReader, iOS or Android device, Kindle Fire, Kindle Fire HD, & Nook. - HyRead 電子書和有聲書
With HyRead you can access Chinese language eBooks and eAudiobooks on a variety of topics including current events, science, technology, beauty, health, and many more. - Palace Project
Use a single app to access a wide selection of eBooks and eAudiobooks from vendors such as Axis360, cloudLibrary, enki, and Overdrive, as well as titles available only from Palace.
- SJPL eNews Home (Full List)
Full list of all SJPL magazines, newspapers, and articles including those not linked in the list below. - Bookan / 博看网 (中國期刊資料庫)
Full-text access to 300+ Chinese magazines. Formats available include: multi-media (original version), HTML text, audio, and a mobile version. Note: Outside of library authentication login is: "sjpl" You can skip step of binding mobile phone number. - Flipster
Read dozens of popular eMagazines in your browser or through the Flipster app (available free through most major app stores). - New York Times Online
Full access to current news and limited access to archives. New York Times digital website. 72-hour access codes available for accessing at home. - PressReader
PressReader contains over 7000 digital magazines and newspapers from around the world, in multiple languages. Read these eMagazines and eNewspapers in the PressReader app available on most devices' app store, or in your desktop/laptop's browser. - Wall Street Journal Home Access
Full access to current news and limited access to archives (4 years). Wall Street Journal digital website. - Newspapers.com California CollectionNewspapers.com California Collection provides access to 547 California newspaper archives. Research archive databases and old news articles to help uncover California history, your genealogy and family stories.
- Consumer ReportsFull-text articles and ratings from Consumer Reports Magazine.
- Gale OneFile: NewsProvides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
- Tutor.com via SJPL
Get homework help from a live certified tutor or use study guides, worksheets, and tutorials on common subjects, and various state standardized tests. For elementary through college age students. - College Blue BookGuide to thousands of 2-and 4-year schools in the U.S. and Canada. Covers the expected listings and detailed descriptions, degree programs offered, scholarships, and occupational education programs.
- Driving TestsPractice tests for the California driving permit
- HelpNowOffers academic support for kindergarten through college as well as support for adults including computer skills, resume help, and citizenship test prep.
- LearningExpress Library - High School Skill CenterOffers test preparation, homework help, and skill building for high school students.
- LearningExpress Library College Admission and Test PreparationGetting into college is an important step to building a strong future. Use this center to get the resources you need to achieve your college preparation goals.
- Peterson's Test PrepA valuable online tool library patrons and students of all ages can use for standardized test preparation, researching and selecting college and graduate schools, finding tuition assistance, and exploring careers.
More about SJPL
- More about the ProgramLearn more about the Student Library Card program on SJPL's website.
- Frequently Asked QuestionsFrequently asked questions about the Student Library Card program at SJPL.
- A-Z List of e-resourcesAlphabetical list of e-Resources at SJPL.
- E-Resources by SubjectList of e-Resources at SJPL by subject.
- SJPL for TeensPrograms, events, volunteer opportunities, and information about reading and learning for high school students. Includes book recommendations, Teen Recording Studio, TeenHQ, and Youth Commission.
Discover & Go
Discover & Go offers San José Public Library members access to free or reduced price tickets to California museums and attraction. Check out the list of venues and reserve your passes today!
Berryessa Seed Library
The original intent of a Seed Library is simply to keep seeds in the hands of the people. Here at the Berryessa Seed Library, we want to encourage our community to learn more about how to grow, harvest, and save seeds.
Anti-Racism Resources
The Library is proud to work towards transforming and building community through knowledge and information around equity issues through our cultural programs and collection of books and resources.
TeenHQ: Teen Center
TeenHQ is the teen center headquarters located at the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Library in downtown San José. It is a place designed exclusively by and for teens in middle and high school. This teen dream hub provides the best environment for innovation to flourish. At TeenHQ, you can be you!
LGBTQ+ Resources
The San José Public Library is committed to creating affirming and welcoming spaces for all members of our community. Through our programs and collections we celebrate LGBTQ+ voices and members in our community.
Almaden Seed Library
Seed libraries are a place where communities receive seeds for free or a small fee. The SJPL Almaden Branch Seed Library offers seeds to the public for free. Seed libraries are created in response to climate change, loss of seed integrity, and to preserve genetic diversity.
Vineland Seed Library
Seed libraries are a place where communities receive seeds for free or a small fee. The SJPL Vineland Branch Seed Library offers seeds to the public for free. Seed libraries are created in response to climate change, loss of seed integrity, and to preserve genetic diversity.
TeenHQ Gamer Lounge
The Gamer Lounge is your place to come in, hang out with your friends and play some video games. We’ll have weekly gaming programs and regular tournaments to test your skills against your friends and the local librarians.
SJ Engage: Teens Take Action
Empower. Act. Make a Difference.
SJ Engage is San José Public Library's virtual volunteer opportunity for teens to learn about social action and civic engagement within their communities.
