NEW 2021 Black American History - from Crash Course
Teaching Resources
- Facing History & Ourselves Educator Resources
Here at Facing History, we know that Black history is central to all of American history, and should be part of a robust teaching curriculum year-round. Alongside the lessons of Black history, it’s also critical to honor the resilience, creativity, and vitality of Black people in the face of inequity and violence, past and present. That’s why, this year, we’re celebrating Black History Month by honoring the themes of Black Agency & Black Joy.
- Learning for Justice (formerly Teaching Tolerance)
Anti-racist educators teach Black history year-round, Teaching Tolerance hopes these resources will help you consider how you're framing the month this particular year. Learn more about the need for—and history behind—Black History Month and get support for teaching Black history in a way that moves beyond trauma and embraces liberation and resistance.
- EDSITEment! Teacher's Guides
Our Teacher's Guide offers a collection of lessons and resources for K-12 social studies, literature, and arts classrooms that center around the achievements, perspectives, and experiences of African Americans across U.S. history.
U.S. Government Websites and Resources
- National Museum of African American History & Culture
- African American HistoryThe Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of African Americans who struggled with adversity to achieve full citizenship in American society.
- National Park ServiceEvery February during Black History Month and throughout the year, the National Park Service and our partners share stories, rich culture, and an invitation for all Americans to reflect on Black history in parks and communities across the country. More than 400 years of Black history and heritage—including achievements, contributions, and historical journeys—are remembered and commemorated in places preserved for current and future generations.
The Pinkston Collection
This collection of books celebrating all aspects of African-American experience and achievement has been curated in honor of Mr. Steve Pinkston in thanksgiving for his 40 years of dedication and service to the Bellarmine community. Dedicated 2020.
Stop by the Library to browse and borrow from the collection, or search for a book in our Destiny online catalog.
Africana Art Collection Online
Black History Research
Off-Campus Access to BCP Digital Resources
Open the document linked above and use the credentials to access our subscription databases and ebooks off-campus. Do not share this document with anyone outside of the Bellarmine community.
Black History at Bellarmine
Black Experience
- Black History Month at SCCLDA collection of books, music, and film available at Santa Clara Libraries.
- 26 Lesser Known Black AmericansA gallery of some "hidden figures" throughout Black history.
From PBS
- 28 Black History MakersPBS shines a spotlight on one history maker per day with an opportunity to honor these great individuals by learning more about their lives and their contributions. Get to know these incredible 28 Black history makers.
- Black Culture ConnectionPBS is proud to celebrate Black History all year round! PBS brings you a lineup of films AND turned a lens on you to celebrate the moments, memories and people in Black history that inspire you.
- Who Are The Tuskegee Airmen - PBSArticle about the genesis of the Tuskegee Airmen program, featuring many photographs and several video interviews with veterans.
NY Public Library
Black History Month, which has been marked in the US since 1970, had its origins in "Negro History Week," an initiative launched in February 1926 by the historian, author, and journalist Dr. Carter G. Woodson. Woodson hoped to establish Negro History Week as a vehicle for raising awareness of the many contributions of Black people to American society. Woodson believed that if all Americans knew what they had accomplished, then Black people could no longer be denied the dignity they deserved. Throughout his life, he countered racist ideas and stereotypes with the scientific and scholarly information he disseminated across the nation, especially to working-class Black communities.
This year, in honor of Dr. Woodson's achievements and in the spirit of the aspirations he held almost a century ago, branch staff from across The New York Public Library have created the Woodson Project, encompassing events, blog posts, book lists, and more that fall into four major areas: Empowering Black Families, Amplifying Black Voices, Exploring Black Identity and Intersectionality and Discovering Black Influencers in STEAM.
The Woodson Project contributors wish for this project to serve as a reminder to everyone why Dr. Carter G. Woodson established Negro History Week 95 years ago.
- Schomburg Center's Black Liberation Reading ListExplore essential titles selected by the Schomburg Center as it marks 95 years of collecting and preserving Black history, arts, and culture.
